top of page
  • Writer's pictureKevin Liu

"Getting *Ka-ching*" | Scholarships

Updated: Apr 15, 2020

The costs included in studying abroad may seem daunting to many (I know it was for me!). We usually assume that going elsewhere to study would cost a leg and an arm to have that experience. However, there are many different opportunities and scholarships available in relieving some of those costs when choosing to study abroad if you find it.


Gilman Scholarship

Thankfully, I was awarded $2500 by the Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship Program. By attending financial workshops provided by Mānoa International Exchange, my home university study-abroad program, I was introduced to a former Gilman recipient, James Rafanan. From his experience for applying for scholarships, I decided to dedicate my time and efforts into completing this scholarship in hopes of receiving financial support. This application was due March 6, 2018, for summer 2018. Make sure to keep in contact with your study-abroad advisor and financial-aid advisor as their certification is required. In this application process, many information and documents are required:

  • Applicant Info

  • Institution Info

  • Current Transcript

  • Abroad Program

  • Program Details

  • Essays

  • Advisor Certifications


Freeman-ASIA Scholarship


For my Fall 2020 semester, I was graciously awarded $5000 from the Freeman-ASIA Scholarship. I learned about them through my home university's exchange program (Manoa International Exchange). They are dedicated to providing scholarship to U.S. undergraduate students with demonstrated financial need to study abroad in East/Southeast Asia, assisting in funding for the cost of studying abroad and related expenses. This application was due April 5, 2019 by 5 pm ET and required the following documents/forms to complete it:

  • Eligibility

  • Personal Information

  • Financial Data

  • Current Institituion Information

  • Study Abroad Program Information

  • Background in Asia

  • Statement of Purpose

  • Service Proposal

  • Student Aid Report

  • Financial Aid Award Letter

  • Current Institution Transcript


Free Application for Federal Student Aid

This may seem obvious but completing your FAFSA will help to pay for some of the college expenses depending on your program. Personally, since I shall be paying my home-university tuition, I was able to obtain a Pell Grant, covering half of my summer tuition fees. FAFSA opens on October 1, so be sure to complete it as soon as possible to obtain more financial aid.


Home University Scholarships

In addition to the previous sources, your home university could have some grants and scholarships available for students to study abroad. To my surprise, I was able to get the Outreach College Scholarship for the summer session since they were notified about my plan to study abroad, covering half of my school tuition!


Overall, be sure to allocate enough time in your schedule to complete the application process to gain scholarships. By focusing your efforts into the application, you can better your chances of receiving the financial support. Don't wait until the last minute to apply!

10 views0 comments
Serendipity - BTS
00:00 / 00:00
bottom of page