top of page
  • Writer's pictureKevin Liu

"Dyein' & Stylin'" | Juno Hair Salon Experience

On Tuesday, July 3, 2018, my friend, Andy from Hawai'i, and I went to a hair salon to switch our style. After reading and watching many Korean hair salon reviews online, we decided to go to a popular and close salon near Yonsei University, Juno Hair.


Pre-Dyeing

This was my first ever time getting my hair done in an actual salon; my mother usually cuts my hair back at home. This branch of Juno Hair is located one block away from Yonsei, being on the third floor of a building. In the front of the stairs, there were having a promotion of 20% off for appointments/walk-ins from 9:30 to 12:00. Arriving at the salon around 2:15 pm, we were quickly serviced. Park Ha Young was the main hair stylist to assist us; she really put her efforts into helping us, using a translation app to talk to us since we did not understand Korean. Andy wanted to get a dye and a perm; unfortunately, he was unable to get a perm if he dyed his hair, so he settled with a dye and a cut. I wanted to dye my hair to a dark gray color, showing the following picture. The workers took our items and placed it in a locker, giving us the key for later retrieval. She walked us through the price breakdown and the process. I needed to get three bleaching since it was my first time dyeing my hair which cost 100,000 ₩ each, totaling to around 300,000 ₩. Andy's additional cut was about 25,000 ₩.


Dyeing Process

Kevin begins the hair-dyeing process at Juno Hair.

After settling on the style and color, the workers took our drink order as the appointment comes with complimentary snacks and a drink. I loved the peach iced tea that I got! In preparation for the hair, they gave us a robe and placed a plastic cover to protect the eyes. The location also provides Wi-Fi for you to use during the appointment. During the process, the hairdresser usually has conversations with you; I talked about various things with the guy hairdresser bleaching my hair. We talked about things like life in Hawai'i and his passion for his job. Andy and I bleached our hairs on a regular table and chair in the middle of the room and waited for several minutes after each round before washing it off at the wash station. The washing process was very relaxing, feeling like a mini massage for your head and neck. Then, we were taking to the hair-drying station before we repeated the process two more times.


Post-Dyeing

The total process took about two hours in total with the bleaching and treatment afterward. They signed us up for their free membership which gives 20% discount for the following visits; Park Ha Young also gave us styling and treatment gel as service. For my color, it looked as if it had not been touched, but Ha Young said that the color would appear later. I started to see the color difference after a week or so. We were instructed that we can wash our hair after one day. My hair did not feel dead after the appointment, but afterward, you can feel the damage the bleach has on the hair (which is normal since your hair "dyes"). However, I did not reach the desired dark gray color I initially wanted; right now, it is more like a light brown color. I plan to head back to the salon to ask about the results as well as to cut my hair.


Review

Overall, I enjoyed the experience of the hair salon. The workers are very accommodating despite not knowing a lot of English, trying to give their best service to the customer. Even though I didn't get my desired hair color, I am delighted at the hair dying results.


Contact

Feel free to check Juno Hair at this location. They have many locations all over Seoul.



준오헤어 연대1호점 (Juno Hair Yeondae No. 1 Branch)

서울특별시 서대문구 창천동 33-4 (Seoul Seodaemun-gu Changcheon-dong)

Everyday 9:30 - 21:30

Tel: 02-325-6050

Web: http://junohair.com

77 views0 comments
Serendipity - BTS
00:00 / 00:00
bottom of page