top of page
  • Writer's pictureKevin Liu

"Summer Dancin' - I WAS FEATURED IN TWO DANCE VIDEOS OMG" | Dance Studios in Seoul

Updated: Apr 15, 2020

I explored two dance studios in Seoul and danced in a few classes.


Just Jerk Dance Academy

For this studio, I bought the five ticket set for 130,000 KRW after experiencing one dance class for 30,000 KRW. I dedicated myself to two certain choreographers, taking four classes from J-Ho and two classes from U-Jin's beginning classes. Near the Hapjeong station, it is located on the second floor of the building, right above a café. The atmosphere in the studio is very relaxed and friendly. When you first walk inside, everyone greets you in Korean. When you first attend the studio, you must first register at the front desk, and you will receive a special code for your classes. Then, you would sign up on the Microsoft Surface Pro using the four-digit code to sign up for your specific class. On the side of the front lobby area is a waiting area where you can leave your bags on a long cushioned chair. When called, the students then can enter the studio room.


J-Ho's classes were mainly R&B vibes choreographed with smooth but quick moves. The songs for the classes I attended were Jill Scott's "Golden", Elderbrook's "Feels Like a Sunday" and "Woman", and Amine "Blinds".




U-Jin's beginner's classes were very fun but still very difficult, dancing to hip-hop/rap songs. From the two classes I attended, we danced to Sage the Gemini's "Butter (feat. DJ Lucci)" and Tyga's "SWISH".



***I AM LITERALLY SHOOK! I AM FEATURED IN THE BOTH "BUTTER" AND "SWISH". You can see my cringe-worthy dancing at 1:42 for "Butter" and 2:13 for "Swish". 🤣***


Location:

서울 마포구 서교동 395-135 2층

395-135 Seogyo-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul (2nd floor)

http://www.justjerk.co.kr/

facebook.com/JustjerkDanceAcademy

youtube.com/justjerkdanceacademy


1Million Dance Studio

I went only once and took Kris's beginner's class on Wednesday before my departure. The price was 35,000 KRW for one class. It is located in Gangnam on the third and fourth floor of their building. I arrived around 4:00 pm, two hours before the class and saw a bunch of people standing in line for another class starting at 5:30 pm. If you plan to go here, be sure to come early to secure your spot in the studio. I went to the fourth floor and registered with the front desk, giving my special code to enter the classes. The beginner's classes are held on the third floor which opens at 5:00 pm, so I decided to go to a nearby café to work on my blog. After coming back a few minutes past 5:00 pm, there were already about ten people waiting in line for the class. We waited in line until 5:45 pm and then were given numbered cards to hold our place in line. We had to come back at 6:00 pm and wait once more before entering the mirror room at 6:30 pm. 


Kris taught us choreography to Beyoncé's "Partition" with very smooth, feminine moves.



Location:

29, Bongeunsa-ro 43-gil, 3/4F, Gangnam-gu, Seoul

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCw8ZhLPdQ0u_Y-TLKd61hGA

https://www.facebook.com/1milliondancestudio

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Serendipity - BTS
00:00 / 00:00
bottom of page